Glenda Ritz Announces 2017 Indiana Teacher of the Year Finalists

By Andrew Pillow

Every year Indiana selects a teacher of the year. Today Glenda Ritz, Indiana’s Superintendent, announced ten finalists for 2017 Indiana Teacher of the Year.

The Indiana Teacher of Year award is over fifty years old and seeks to recognize “outstanding classroom teachers from across the state.”

The winner will be chosen by the Indiana Teacher of the Year Selection Committee. The committee is made up of former winners of the award. The winner will then be eligible for the National Teacher of the Year Award.

See the full list of finalists and read more here


Andrew Pillow

Andrew is a technology teacher at KIPP Indy College Prep. He is graduate of the University of Kentucky and a Teach for America Alum. Andrew just recently finished his commitment as a Teach Plus Policy fellow, and he is looking forward to putting the skills he's learned to good use. Andrew has written for several publications in the past on a wide variety of topics but will be sticking to education for his role on Indy/Ed.