IPS names principals of reinvented high schools

reinvented schools.PNG

Indianapolis Public Schools Board of School Commissioners recently approved the plan to move the district to an all choice high school model under the district’s Reinventing IPS High Schools Plan.  This plan resulted in closing Broad Ripple High School and John Marshall Middle School (previously a high school) and converting Arlington High School and Northwest High School into middle schools.  This leaves the district with four traditional high schools:  Arsenal Tech, Crispus Attucks, George Washington and Shortridge and three innovation high schools:  Purdue Polytechnic, Herron and Riverside.  

At tonight’s board meeting the principals of the traditional high schools were announced.  Lloyd Bryant, who replaced award winning principal Julie Bakehorn six weeks into the school year at Arsenal Tech, will continue as  principal next school year.  Lauren Franklin, currently the principal of Crispus Attucks, will continue as principal.  Stanley Law, currently the principal of Arlington High School will become the principal of George Washington next school year and Shane O’Day, currently the principal of Shortridge, will continue as principal. 

The next task these administrators will have to tackle is hiring their administrative teams.  Then, interviews will begin for teachers.  Prior to interviewing, teachers will have the opportunity to attend an open house at each school to learn more about the principal and the school.  Not only will these administrators have to lead their current schools, they will also have to plan and prepare for the next school year.  This is a mighty undertaking, but IPS has chosen them because they believe they are up for the task.